CITY OF WESTMINSTER

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

At the Meeting of the Council of the City of Westminster held at 7.00 pm on Wednesday 16th May, 2018 at Westminster Council House, 97-113 Marylebone Road, London, NW1 5PT.

PRESENT

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Ian Adams and upon election as Lord Mayor, Councillor Lindsey Hall

COUNCILLORS

Nickie Aiken David Harvey

Barbara Arzymanow Elizabeth Hitchcock

Timothy Barnes Adam Hug
Geoff Barraclough Louise Hyams
Aiche Leas

Richard Beddoe Aicha Less
Rita Begum Pancho Lewis
David Boothroyd Andrea Mann

lain Bott Patricia McAllister

Susie Burbridge Guthrie McKie
Ruth Bush Tim Mitchell
Nafsika Butler-Thalassis Gotz Mohindra

Melvyn Caplan Eoghain Murphy Maggie Carman Matt Noble

Danny Chalkley Emily Payne
Antonia Cox Papya Qureshi

Robert Davis, MBE, DL Robert Rigby
Lorraine Dean Rachael Robathan

Tony Devenish Tim Roca
Paul Dimoldenberg Ian Rowley

Richard Elcho Karen Scarborough
Christabel Flight Mark Shearer
Peter Freeman Selina Short

Murad Gassanly
Jonathan Glanz
Jim Glen

Andrew Smith
James Spencer
Paul Swaddle, OBE

Matthew Green Shamim Talukder

Angela Harvey Hamza Taouzzale

Aziz Toki Judith Warner Jacqui Wilkinson

1 ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

- 1.1 Proposed by Councillor Peter Freeman and seconded by Councillor Christabel Flight that Councillor Lindsey Hall be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.
- 1.2 Proposed by Councillor Guthrie McKie and seconded by Councillor Tim Roca that Councillor Ruth Bush be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.
- 1.3 Upon a show of hands, the Lord Mayor declared that Councillor Lindsey Hall had been elected Lord Mayor.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Lindsey Hall be elected Lord Mayor of Westminster for the ensuing year.

Councillor Lindsey Hall thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Lord Mayor and of the Office of Deputy High Steward of Westminster. Having done so, she took the Chair and thanked the Council for her election and reported that Mr Robert Hall would be her primary Consort.

2 MINUTES

2.1 The minutes of the Council meeting held on 18 April 2018 were, with the assent of the Members present, signed by the Lord Mayor as a true record.

3 APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

3.1 The Lord Mayor announced that she had appointed Father Gary Bradley as her Chaplain. The Chaplain then led the Council in a moment of reflection.

4 PRESENTATION OF PAST LORD MAYOR'S BADGE AND OTHER INSIGNIA

4.1 The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the Council, presented Councillor Ian Adams with a past Lord Mayor's badge and the Vote of Thanks on Vellum as agreed by the Council at its previous meeting and also presented a past Lord Mayor's badge to Mr Christopher Colosimo. Councillor Adams then thanked the Council on behalf of Mr Colosimo and himself.

5 LORD MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

5.1 The Lord Mayor informed the Council that the Annual Civic Service would be held at Westminster Abbey at 11.00am on Sunday 1 July 2018 and all present were welcome to attend.

- 6 RETURN OF COUNCILLORS AND NOTIFICATION OF MEMBERS OF POLITICAL GROUPS INCLUDING LEADERS, DEPUTY LEADERS AND PARTY WHIPS
- 6.1 The report of the Chief Executive was noted.

7 ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

- 7.1 Proposed by Councillor Tim Mitchell and seconded by Councillor David Harvey that Councillor Nickie Aiken be elected Leader of the Council.
- 7.2 Motion put, and on a show of hands, declared **CARRIED**.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Nickie Aiken be elected Leader of the Council.

8 DELEGATIONS TO LEADER

- 8.1 The report was noted.
- 9 NOTIFICATION BY THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL OF CABINET MEMBERS AND RELATED MATTERS
- 9.1 The report of the Leader of the Council was noted.

10 CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

- 10.1 The report of the Chief Executive and the Director of Law was submitted.
- 10.2 The Lord Mayor put the recommendations set out in the report to the vote and on a show of hands declared these to be **AGREED.**

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Standing Committees be established as listed in 2 below and their Terms of Reference as set out in Appendix A of the report be approved.
- 2. That the Council confirm the proportional division of seats on the Standing Committees as shown in column 3 of Appendix B of the report circulated at the meeting, as set out below:

Committee	Members	Proporti Cons	onality Labour
Audit and Performance General Purposes Westminster Scrutiny Commission Family and People Services P&S City Management and Public Protection P&S	4 4 6 8 8	3 3 4 5 5	1 1 2 3 3
Economic Development, Education, Community and Place Shaping P&S Committee	8	5	3
Housing, Finance and Customer Services P&S	8	5	3
Standards P&S Pensions Fund Planning and City Development Licensing Committee	8 4 19 15	5 3 14 11	3 1 5 4
	90	62	28

- 3. That the Members appointed to the Standing Committees by the Chief Executive following notification received from the respective party Chief Whip under the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990 as amended, set out in Appendix B of the report tabled at the meeting, be noted.
- 4. That the Council's Constitution, including the Scheme of Delegations to Officers in respect of Non-executive function, be endorsed.
- 5. That the Joint Committees established in accordance with Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972, as detailed in paragraph 3.8 of the report, be agreed.
- 6. That the Members Allowances Scheme be amended to reflect a 2% increase in the Basic Allowance and each Special Responsibility Allowance with effect from 1 June 2018 and officers be authorised to amend the Scheme accordingly.

11 CLOSE OF MEETING

The	Meeting	ended	lat 7	7.59	nm
1110		CHACA	ul	.00	\sim 11

CHAIRMAN:	DATE	
O 117 (11 (11)7 (11 (1)		